top of page

The End (Kinda)

Well it has been awhile,

Sorry everyone for the long overdue update. I know I have said this multiple times in my blog so far, but time is just flying by. Last time I updated everyone I was getting back from Norway and began my last week of student teaching in Krosno. Here goes nothing...

My last day at NCSS was definitely a sad day. I said my final good byes to some of my students and also teachers at the school. However, it was also exciting because I had completed all of my student teaching requirements and will now become an official college graduate. Teaching at NCCS has been one of the best things in my life so far. I was thrown into an unfamiliar culture, was constantly taken out of my comfort zone, and was continually challenged every day. I would change anything about my student teaching experience because I grew as a teacher, but more importantly as a person. I got to experience and appreciate a whole new culture. I was welcomed with open arms by the teachers and students at NCCS. I will always be grateful for my time spent in Krosno.

With a long holiday coming up, students began their long break from school on Friday (4-27) of that week. Which meant another traveling opportunity for myself. Thursday night I headed to catch a night train to…... Vienna, Austria. This was my first time taking a night train, and I was a little nervous how much sleep I would actually get. When booking the ticket, the lady at the ticket counter hardly spoke any English. The only thing we were successfully able to communicate to each other was my destination and the time I wanted to leave. As far as what seat I had purchased and where it would be located, I had no idea. To my lucky surprise I was placed in a six-person compartment with no one else being in my row. So, I was able to sprawl out and enjoy all three seats during my nine-hour journey. It was not so bad after all.

Vienna was such a nice city. A lot of this trip was spent walking around and exploring what the city had to offer. It had a unique style and a fun culture to experience. The best place that I got to see was the Schonbrunn Palace. This was a very large structure that had amazing architecture. The palace was also surrounded by many gardens, and even had a zoo nearby. I also got to tour Mozart’s house where he lived for three years. Another exciting activity I was able to do in Vienna, was to watch a musical. I actually got to watch The Sound of Music while in Austria. The quick run-down of the musical was that it was very cheap (3 Euros), standing room only section (three hours was a long time standing), being at the very top was very hot (it was really warm), it was a great performance. Overall, Vienna was a fun time.

Usually at this point I begin my journey back to Poland, but this week is a little different. I mentioned earlier that NCCS had a long break, which meant for another traveling opportunity. I got on a bus from Vienna and headed to Prague, Czech Republic for the second part of my trip! With it being a long break and the two cities being close to Poland, it was an easy decision to explore both.

Prague was not a disappoint to say the least. I was able to explore the Old Town Square (downtown of the city) and see a variety of old buildings. I also got to cross the St. Charles Bridge which had a very nice view on both side of the bridge of Prague. I got to walk past the Lennon Wall, which is very artistic. I also got to see the Prague castle and got to walk around and explore many other parts of the city. An exciting part of this trip was the hostel I stayed at during my visit. The first night I was able to hang out with four people from Poland. It was fun learning about where they were from because I did not make it to their part of the country during my stay. The second night I got to talk with some people from Serbia and also Australia. It was so much fun getting to talk to these people because you hardly ever get the opportunity. In the end Prague was such a good time.

If you have kept up on the day so far, I took a plane from Prague to Krakow on Monday (4-30) to get back to the school and finish packing. Tuesday was spent relaxing and walking around Krosno one last time. I really felt at home during my stay and really loved living in this town. It was nice to have one more day to enjoy it. Later that afternoon I headed back to Krakow to stay the night, as I had an early flight on Wednesday morning. Where you might ask? I didn’t fly back home to Iowa just yet. A few of you might have me on Facebook and have already seen where I flew to. As for the rest of you, check back next time for another update. I think that’s all for now. Hope you all enjoyed the long and overdue update.

do widzenia

bottom of page